AKB0048 Ep 1-3. No Way Did I Expect That!

Why oh why did I start this review on the third ep? Same as always. I’m one lazy blogger. That’s not all, for once in quite a while; I am shocked by a show like this. And shocked, I mean my computer had a technical problem as I watched and I got electrocuted.

Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice

Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice Fanservice

Episode 1 and 2. Nothing much to say but I’ll devote a few lines. 2 episodes summed up in a few words: AKB48 advertisement, random fan-service and pointless drama. I’m ok with the first 2 but the whole trial thing is pointless. And my Chieri love is dropping. A lot.

Not that advertisement. I mean who chose the freaking song??? *Emo Music* I EAT DAH CUP NOODAH!

Not that advertisement. I mean who chose the freaking song??? *Emo Music* I EAT DAH CUP NOODAH!

BUT, Episode 3 changed the ball game. Ok pointless AKB 48 advertisement at the start and more , but the later part (basically the end). That one moment where Mimori was declared the 10th place for the GE (General Elections). And then Yume wa Nandomo Umarekawaru started playing. That moment felt epic.

All the tiny hints I did not see!

All the tiny hints I did not see!

Why? I no way in hell saw that coming. I mean the expected result would be Kanata, Nagisa or Chieri. No one would expect Mimori. She did sparkle for that one bit in the dodgeball where she provided pointless fanservice, but that was the limit we all expected. So for shocking me, I say well played. For not going what the fans expect and going for the shock factor.

My jaw dropped at this moment.

My jaw dropped at this moment.

But what do I have to say about AKB0048 Next Stage overall? It is an average show, I gave the 1st season a 7 as it exceeded expectations but was still meh. Honestly this show is AKB promotion.

Still shots = money saved

Still shots = money saved

And the extra money goes here!

And the extra money goes here!

But the art needs to be creative. Men with moe eyes is a big no-no.

But the art needs to be creative. Men with moe eyes is a big no-no.

This part. TAKE THAT COPYRIGHT LAWS!

This part. TAKE THAT COPYRIGHT LAWS!

No problems with that, I mean they provide an interesting premise and amazing animations for the most part and AKB has catchy bubblegum idol pop. So it has that nice likeable recipe.

WOTAs. Interesting people in both 2D and 3D

WOTAs. Interesting people in both 2D and 3D

I planned to watch this only because I was somewhat okay with the first season but not bad, third episode in and now I want the next episode.

As the classic Singporean would say, "Now then you know r?"

As the classic Singporean would say, “Now then you know r?”

About sleepynoyume

To say the least, Seiyuu nut and Otaku!

2 thoughts on “AKB0048 Ep 1-3. No Way Did I Expect That!

Leave a comment