2012 What a Year!

This is the first year of me being completely Otaku and even in the midst of giant examinations, I had tremendous amount of fun and now it’s time to take a look back at this amazing and seemingly so short year.

What? I like my eye c andy.

What? I like my eye c andy.

Anime-wise we had a great year and my personal favourites of this year range from cute fluffy moe of Acchi Kocchi to cute drama of Kokoro Connect. This year has been fun and although people might say that there is no “big anime of the year” as compared to last year, I still had fun so there!

Cause you need to dry your Waifus after you make them wet >.>

Cause you need to dry your Waifus after you make them wet >.>

Plus this was the year of the Madoka Movies and they were amazing and awesome and afantastic. (Geddit? Watched it at AFA) So I will say that this was an extremely fulfilling year of anime. Especially if you’re a slice-of-life lover like me. There are also plenty of season 2 announced for the shows we love this year and many more great animes being announced which really catches my attention. I mean just Nisemonogatari and Yuru Yuri is enough to put a smile on my face.

Because moe and yuri just work together hand in hand

Because moe and yuri just work together hand in hand

Events wise I will say it was good as well. I did get Yanagi Nagi’s autograph see Sphere real life for the first time which is something I really did not expect to say so soon. Plus at all these events I managed to make friends with the Hiromi and Iso from Nabe to which I’m really thankful for the opportunity. So hopefully I get to become better friends with the friends I made this year and make new friends next year!

Because in my ideal world, everyone is buddy-buddy xD

Because in my ideal world, everyone is buddy-buddy xD

Seiyuu wise it has been THE year. Well it is the only year so not many other options. But we have many interesting debuts like Uesaka Sumire and the names that we are already familiar with are appearing more often. Plus there’s the many solo debuts we have been told about ranging from Hiyocchi’s to Iguchi’s to Yui’s and of course Kana’s 4 singles mass release.

What do you want me to say? Their cute, I like them.

What do you want me to say? Their cute, I like them.

Without further ado, let me give you my top of several (random) categories that I just thought of.

Best Comedic Anime: Yuru Yuri
I mean seriously… that first episode had me already laughing my head off from that random Physics references. Plus cute comedy that makes use of moe and yuri is genius.

What? Studying really gets to you.

What? Studying really gets to you. BTW, that rule is why electric motors work.

Best Slice-of-Life: Acchi Kocchi
Take sweets… add sugar… add in condensed milk. You’ll get diabetes. Another easier way to get diabetes would be from watching Acchi Kocchi. Tsumiki is cute, Io is cool and I want a season 2.

Io is so far the only male character I would go gay for.

Io is so far the only male character I would go gay for.

Best Characters: Kokoro Connect
Why? I don’t know myself but somehow these characters feel the most “real” to me. I won’t get philosophical and talk about how real these characters are but just that they seem like people I will meet kind of think.

Everyday is loliday

Everyday is loliday

Best Overall: Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 1: Hajimari no Monogatari
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 2: Eien no Monogatari

So dark... you need to counter that with yuri! Where's Sayaka?

So dark… you need to counter that with yuri! Where’s Sayaka?

If the TV series wowed me, the movies made me inject my pants full of various body fluids and solids. Everything I loved in the series was expounded and everything I hated was almost removed so yeah. Love it.

Favourite Seiyuu of the Year: Undecided.
Far too many… can’t decide on one man. It’s choosing the cutest kittens from a basket-full of kittens.

So that’s how I saw this year. How did you see yours?

WHO GIVES A DAMN CHRISTMAS IS OVER?

WHO GIVES A DAMN CHRISTMAS IS OVER?

About sleepynoyume

To say the least, Seiyuu nut and Otaku!

4 thoughts on “2012 What a Year!

  1. For me, I’d think the characters in Madoka or Sakurasou would be better contenders for characters which have a more “real” dimension as opposed to Kokoro Connect.

    • Hmm.. i’m not too sure myself… but i felt something click. Maybe cause the relationships in Kokoroco were less innocent. Or maybe im judging characters as if in they were those 9pm dramas on channel 8. Lol should provide a more solid point next time

Leave a Reply

